Welcome to GulfCoastNews.com

Lott: Mississippi Universities to Receive $7.7 Million From Katrina Relief Donations Provide by Foreign Nations

From: Office of Sen. Trent Lott             Filed 8/30/06  GCN

Five Mississippi universities hardest hit by hurricane Katrina will receive more than $7.7 million from Katrina relief donations contributed through 27 foreign governments, U.S. Senator Trent Lott said today following confirmation of the schools’ individual allotments from the U.S. Department of Education, and the U.S. State Department.

“I talked with Secretary of State Condoleeza Rice, Secretary of Education Margaret Spellings and others within the department to make sure Mississippi received its fair share of these donated funds,” Senator Lott said.  “The list of foreign governments giving specifically toward rebuilding hurricane damaged schools is a diverse array of nations, some of with which Americans have significant political, cultural and philosophical differences.  However, just as we saw during the recent tsunami in Asia, these generous contributions reaffirm that beyond our differences lies a common link of humanity that binds all people together, especially when we experience natural disasters.”

The U.S. State Department acted as the recipient of the donations, before transferring the funds to the U.S. Department of Education for administration to educational facilities in the hurricane affected region. Mississippi’s funding as determined by the Department’s damage allotment formula breaks down as follows:

            * University of Southern Mississippi: $4,322,893

            * William Carey College: $1,801,580

            * Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College: $968,916

            * Pearl River Community College: 524,808

            * Jones Junior College: $125,000

            * Total for Mississippi: $7,743,198

            * Nations contributing include: China, Azerbajan, Bahrain, Japan, Bahamas, Gabon, Bangladesh, Angola, Malta, Brunei, Afghanistan, UAE, Nepal, Rwanda, Senegal, Taiwan, Lebanon, Yerevan, Bosnia Herzegovina, Nigeria, Ghana, Fiji, Palau, Botswana, Cyprus, South Korea and Djibouti.

Welcome to GulfCoastNews.com