Welcome to GulfCoastNews.com

MEMA & MCDEMA Announce Emergency Manager of the Year

GCN      Filed 6/10/06

Jackson Hancock County Emergency Management Director Brian “Hooty” Adam received the 2006 Emergency Manager of the Year award this week at the annual Mississippi Emergency Management Agency and the Mississippi Civil Defense/Emergency Management Association’s conference in Biloxi.

“I was speechless,” Adam said. “I certainly appreciate everybody supporting me and I am honored to win the award.”

Members of MCDEMA’s Board of Directors accepted nominations for the award last month. Attendees at the conference chose the winner from the top three nominees. The other two nominees included Pearl River County Director Bobby Strahan and Forrest County Director Terry Steed.

Former winners of the Emergency Manager of the Year include:

  • 2005: Lincoln County Director Clifford Galey.
  • 2004: Pike County Director Richard Coghlin.
  • 2003: Bolivar County Director Kent Buckley.
  • 2002: Forrest County Deputy Director Beth Johnson.
  • 2001: Harrison County Director Linda Rouse.
  • 2000: (Former Tate County Director) MEMA Director Robert Latham.

Welcome to GulfCoastNews.com