Welcome to GulfCoastNews.com

Candidates Signing Up for Upcoming County Elections
by Keith Burton - GCN 1/16/07

Candidates are already filing for this year's county and state elections. The filings are already proving interesting as some major past players are either absent or seeking other elective positions. This is especially the case in Harrison County.

District 2 Supervisor Larry Benefield is expected to seek the position of Southern District Highway Commissioner, currently held by Wayne Brown, who is widely unpopular on the Coast. Benefield's formal announcement is expected soon. Several newcomers to politics have already filed for some posts, including Benefield's seat on the Board of Supervisors.

Windy Swetman has filed for the seat held by long-time District 1 Supervisor Bobby Elueterius, who announced earlier this month that was not seeking re-election.

The deadline for candidates to qualify is March 1, 2007. The first primary will be held on August 7, 2007, with the second primary to be held on August 28, 2007. The general election will be held on November 6, 2007.

As of January 12, 2007 the following persons have qualified with the Circuit Clerk to run for office in Harrison County:

Chancery Clerk
John McAdams, R

Circuit Clerk
Gayle Parker, D

Constable, District # 1
W.S. "Windy" Swetman, R

Constable, District # 2
Paul Johnson, R

Constable, District # 3
William L. (Billy) Phelps, D
Alfred J. Reyer, R

Constable, District # 4
Joshua Spann, D

Constable, District # 5
Jeff Migues, R

Gary Hargrove, D
Pam King, R

County Attorney
Bob Payne, R
Kay L. Wilkerson, R

House of Representatives, District # 114
Daniel D. “Danny” Guice, Jr., R

Justice Court Judge, District #1
Albert Fountain, R

Justice Court Judge, District # 2
Gene Dedeaux, R
Mary T. Foretich, D
Fred Gaston, R
John McCay, R
Stanley Vance, R

Justice Court Judge, District # 3
Dianne Ladner, D

Justice Court Judge, District # 4
Melvin J. Ray, D

Justice Court Judge, District # 5
Bruce C. Strong, R

John A. Finnegan, Jr., R
Anderson D. Hall, D
Neil Resh, R

State Senate, District # 49
Billy Hewes, III, R

Supervisor, District #1
W.S. "Windy" Swetman, III, R

Supervisor, District #2
David C. Powers, R

Supervisor, District # 3
Marlin R. Ladner, R

Supervisor, District # 4
William W. Martin, D

Supervisor, District # 5
Connie Rockco, R

Tax Assessor
Tal Flurry, R

Tax Collector
David LaRosa Sr., R

Welcome to GulfCoastNews.com