Welcome to GulfCoastNews.com

Governor Announces Board of Health Appointees
Pascagoula Physician Among the Appointees

From: Office of the Governor   Filed 4/24/07  GCN    Correction: Hood Appointees

Governor Haley Barbour today announced the appointment of seven Mississippians who will join appointees of the lieutenant governor and attorney general on a newly-constituted State Board of Health.

Senate Bill 2764, passed in the 2007 legislative session and signed into law by Governor Barbour on March 30, required that the current Board of Health be abolished and the Mississippi State Department of Health reorganized under a new 11-member governing board whose members are drawn from specific areas. For example, the new board must be comprised of five currently licensed physicians and six individuals who have a background or interest in public health but who have never been licensed physicians. The chairman must be a physician.

“The Mississippi Department of Health provides some of state government’s most fundamental and necessary services. It is important that the new board move quickly to ensure these services are delivered. I am confident that the individuals appointed will perform their duties very capably,” Governor Barbour said.

New board members appointed by Governor Barbour include:

  • Dr. Kelly Segars of Iuka, for a term ending June 30, 2009;

  • Dr. Luke Lampton of Magnolia, for a term ending June 30, 2013;

  • Dr. Alfred McNair of Pascagoula, for a term ending June 30, 2009;

  • Ellen Williams, RN, MSN, of Senatobia, a nursing instructor at Northwest Mississippi Community College, for a term ending June 30, 2013;

  • Carl Nicholson, CPA, of Hattiesburg, for a term ending June 30, 2011;

  • Ronnie Robertson of Greenwood, for a term ending June 30, 2011;

  •  Elayne Hayes-Anthony, Ph.D., of Madison, for a term ending June 30, 2013.

Lt. Gov. Amy Tuck named Dr. Ed Hill, of Tupelo, for a term ending June 30, 2009; and Randy Hendrix, Ph.D., of Ovett, for a term ending June 30, 2013.

Attorney General Jim Hood appointed Dr. Geraldine B. Chaney, of Jackson and Sammie Ruth Rea, RN of Ridgeland have each been appointed to serve on the new board.

Dr. Geraldine B. Chaney is a licensed physician in Jackson, Mississippi, and is certified by the American Board of Medical Specialties in Pediatrics. Dr. Jackson is appointed to serve a four year term ending June 30, 2011.

Sammie Ruth Rea is a Registered Nurse in Ridgeland, Mississippi and is appointed to serve a two year term ending June 30, 2009.

Welcome to GulfCoastNews.com