Online Auction Begins June 27 on Properties in Jackson County


From:  News Release   7/27/18   GCN


Biloxi, Miss.—Bidding begins June 27 in an online auction of 376 tax-forfeited properties in Jackson County valued at an estimated ­$1.6 million, Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann announced at a press conference today.


The parcels up for auction are spread throughout Jackson County in Moss Point, Gautier, Oceans Springs, and Pascagoula.


“Online auctions are great for local communities because they make it easier for citizens to purchase property forfeited to the State for nonpayment of ad valorem taxes,” Secretary Hosemann said. “Formerly neglected properties are restored to the tax rolls and money raised is distributed to cities, counties, and schools.”


Bids may be submitted online on the Secretary of State’s online auction portal until Wednesday, July 25, 2018, at 11:59 p.m. CST. To place a bid, a user is required to register online. Users may view property details such as parcel location, legal description, and an auction map. Other information, such as auction dates, bid notices, and market values of property are also available online. Successful bidders will be notified by e-mail as soon as possible after the auction closes, and payment of the bid amount must be paid within fifteen (15) days of notification.


Buyers will also be permitted to pay a “Buy It Now” price on any parcel, which allows them purchase a property immediately instead of waiting until the end of the auction.


In recent years, successful auctions in Bay St. Louis, Greenville, Greenwood, Hinds County, Jackson, McComb, Meridian, Pearl River County, Rankin County, Washington County, Waveland, Vicksburg, and Yazoo City have raised hundreds of thousands of dollars for Mississippi schools, municipalities, and counties.


Tax Forfeited Property Sales in Hancock County Generate Almost $40,000


The Secretary of State’s Office is releasing $39,709.62 today to Hancock County, and cities and schools within the county, representing proceeds from recent tax-forfeited property sales. The amount represents 101 parcels which have been returned to the tax rolls.


The distribution to the entities within Harrison County are as follows:


· Board of Supervisors: $16,140.52

· Hancock County School District: $9,304.62

· Chancery Clerk: $7,414.06

· Bay St. Louis-Waveland School District: $2,782.13

· City of Waveland: $1,955.58

· City of Diamondhead: $1,137.24

· Sheriff’s Department: $631.65

· City of Bay St. Louis: $343.82


Since Fiscal Year 2015, the Secretary of State’s Office has turned back $479,060 to Hancock County through sales from tax-forfeited parcels.


To learn more about tax-forfeited properties, visit the Secretary of State’s website or call the Public Lands Division at (601)-359-5156.