NASA Acting Administrator Statement on the NASA Authorization Act of 2017

President Donald Trump presents the signed NASA Transition Authorization Act of 2017, flanked by Sen. Ted Cruz (Texas), Sen. Bill Nelson (Florida), NASA astronaut Chris Cassidy, Rep. Martha Roby (Alabama), Rep. Lamar Smith (Texas), Sen. Luther Strange (Alabama), Rep. Roger Aderholt (Alabama), Rep. Frank Lucas (Oklahoma), Rep. Brian Babin (Texas), Rep. John Culberson (Texas), Rep. Jim Bridenstine (Oklahoma), Rep. Steven Palazzo (Mississippi), and NASA astronaut Tracy Caldwell Dyson.

Credits: NASA/Bill Ingalls

The following is a statement from NASA acting Administrator Robert Lightfoot on President Trump signing Tuesday the National Aeronautics and Space Administration Transition Authorization Act of 2017:

“We would like to thank President Trump for his support of the agency in signing the National Aeronautics and Space Administration Transition Authorization Act of 2017.

“We also want to express our gratitude to a bipartisan Congress for its thoughtful consideration of the agency’s path forward. We are grateful for the longstanding support and trust of the American people, which enables our nation’s space, aeronautics, science, and technology development programs to thrive.

“Our workforce has proven time and again that it can meet any challenge, and the continuing support for NASA ensures our nation’s space program will remain the world’s leader in pioneering new frontiers in exploration, innovation, and scientific achievement.”

For more information about NASA’s missions, programs and activities, visit: